Chautauqua Institution

The Chautauqua Prize

Chautauqua Institution is pleased to announce six exceptional books as the 2014 finalists for The Chautauqua Prize.

The Chautauqua Prize 2014 Finalists







A History of the Present Illness: Stories
Louise Aronson

Sea of Hooks
Lindsay Hill
McPherson & Company

The Boy Detective: A New York Childhood

My Foreign Cities
Elizabeth Scarboro

The Man He Became: How FDR Defied Polio to Win the Presidency
James Tobin
Simon & Schuster

Margaret Wrinkle
Grove Press


The winning book will be selected from this shortlist and announced in mid-May. 


Press Kit:
Full press release | The Chautauqua Prize logo (pdf) 


Chautauqua Institution, the pre-eminent expression of lifelong learning in the United States, is pleased to invite 2014 submissions for The Chautauqua Prize, a distinguished national literary prize for a work of fiction or literary/narrative nonfiction.

Awarded annually since 2012, The Chautauqua Prize draws upon Chautauqua's considerable literary legacy to celebrate a book that provides a richly rewarding reading experience and honor the author for a significant contribution to the literary arts. The author receives $7,500 and all travel and expenses for a one-week summer residency at Chautauqua Institution in western New York.

Eligible books for the 2014 prize will have been published in English in the United States during 2013. Nominations will be accepted beginning Sept. 9, 2013, from publishers, agents, authors, and readers. The deadline for nomination is December 31, 2013. Longlist finalists will be notified in February 2014, at which time authors will be asked to select their summer visit time to Chautauqua should they be awarded the prize. Shortlist finalists and the winner will be notified in April and May 2014. Chautauqua Institution will celebrate the winner in the summer of 2014, at a time selected by the winner and Chautauqua Institution.

Chautauqua’s commitment to the literary arts is immersed in its rich history. In addition to the 135-year-old Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle, Chautauqua’s literary arts programming includes summer-long interaction of published and aspiring writers at the Chautauqua Writers’ Center, the intensive workshops of the nationally recognized Chautauqua Writers’ Festival, and lectures by prominent authors on the craft and art of writing.

The Chautauqua Prize is awarded through a two-tiered judging process that includes Chautauquans who are writers, publishers, critics, editors, librarians, booksellers, and literature and creative writing educators. Each nominated book is evaluated by three reviewers, with the final selection made by a three-member, independent, anonymous jury.

Updated Sept. 6, 2013



Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher wins 2013 Chautauqua Prize

Chautauqua Institution is delighted to announce Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) by Timothy Egan as the 2013 winner of The Chautauqua Prize.


Eligible books are those published first in the United States, in English, in 2013, and made available in hardcover or bound paperback form for purchase by the general public.


After each nominated eligible book is evaluated by three Chautauquan reviewers, the shortlist and winner are chosen by a three-member, independent, anonymous jury.


Publishers (including trade, university, and small presses), agents, readers, or authors may submit books published in 2013 by living writers.


Chautauqua Institution, dedicated to the exploration of the best of human values and to the enrichment of life, is the pre-eminent expression of lifelong learning in the United States.


From the toddler whose grandparents are helping choose her first book to the octogenarian devouring the uncountable, Chautauquans have an extraordinary involvement with the written word.


There is no other implicit or explicit relationship between The Chautauqua Prize and other Chautauqua Institution literary programs.